

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

Board of Dentistry



110 Centerview Drive Post Office Box 11329 Columbia, SC 29211-1329 Phone: (803) 896-4599 FAX: (803) 896-4719

October 23, 2020

Board of Dentistry: Continuing Education and 2020 Renewals

Continuing Education

During the April 3, 2020 board meeting, the South Carolina Board of Dentistry approved waiving the 50% online continuing education restriction for the current CE cycle. For the upcoming renewal, **100% of continuing education may be obtained online during the time period of January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2020.** Following renewal, the 50% online CE allowance will go back into effect. For additional CE information, please visit the Board website at <u>https://www.llr.sc.gov/bod/ce.aspx</u>.

Utilization of CE Broker tracking system <u>will not</u> be mandatory for the upcoming renewal cycle. Licensees are encouraged to activate their free <u>CE Broker account</u> to begin familiarizing themselves with the system. Expanded information on how to utilize CE Broker and course reporting is currently being developed and will be posted to the Board website in the coming months. Licensees will be sent additional notification once information has been posted.

2020 Renewal Licensure

In accordance with South Carolina Code section 40-15-170, the Board of Dentistry renewals will open in October 2020. Renewals not completed by December 31, 2020 will be subject to late renewal fees as follows:

- If renewed January 1, 2021 through January 31, 2021, the renewal fee is doubled.
- If renewed February 1, 2021 through February 28, 2021, an additional \$5 per day is added to the doubled renewal fee.
- If not renewed by February 28, 2021 the registration will lapse March 1, 2021 and must be reinstated to activate.

As a reminder, starting in 2021, all licenses now run on a biennial cycle of January 1 of odd years to December 31 of even years. Accordingly, licenses renewed during this renewal cycle will have an expiration date of December 31, 2022.

In accordance with S.C. Regulation 39-17(I), any dentist permitted for Moderate or Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia must renew the permit in addition to his/her license. A permit fee of \$200 will be added to the license renewal fee. In accordance with S.C. Code section 40-15-400 and S.C. Regulation 39-17, license dentists wishing to offer sedation to their patients must first attain a permit for sedation. Additional information regarding sedation permitting requirements and applicability can be found in the <u>Dental Sedation Act Clarification</u>. Application for sedation permit can be found on the Board website at <u>https://www.llr.sc.gov/bod/pub.aspx</u>.

Henry D. McMaster Governor

> Emily H. Farr Director

Licensees and other members of the public needing assistance are encouraged to visit the Board website at <u>www.llr.sc.gov</u> or contact the Board office at 803-896-4599 or at <u>contact.dentistry@llr.sc.gov</u>. The Board will continue to monitor the public health emergency and will communicate updates via email and Board website.